My Plea

I’m scared to walk out of the confined four walls,
I’m scared to roam about alone in the malls,
I don’t feel secure,
There is no safety any more,
Too many restrictions,
Thoughts and ideals of individuals causing frictions,
I would rather be treated like a boy,
Not just a use and throw toy,
I want to be free like a bird,
Not always be considered another target in a herd,
I want to have an open life,
Not threatened with society’s knife,
All I wish for is a better future
For all those little girls
Who deserve to be nurtured to become beautiful pearls…  

This poem was written post the Delhi rape case and is one that is really close to my heart.

 

 

One thought on “My Plea

Leave a Reply

